The Seven Principles of Kwanzaa

The Seven Principles of Kwanzaa

The official celebration of Kwanzaa might be over but that doesn’t mean that you should now neglect the principles. It would be beneficial to your an your community’s well-being if you made the seven principles of Kwanzaa part of your every day life.

Where else does the number seven play a significant part in our life? That’s right, in our weeks. Here’s a novel idea, start focusing on a different principle for each day of the week.

Here are the seven principles;

  • Umoja (Unity)

    To strive for and maintain unity in the family, community, nation and race

  • Kujichagulia (Self-Determination)

    To define ourselves, name ourselves, create for ourselves and speak for ourselves

  • Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibilty)

    To build and maintain our community together and make our brother’s and sister’s problems our problems and solve them together.

  • Ujamaa (Coopoerative Economics)

    To build and maintain our own stores, shops and other businesses and to profit from them together.

  • Nia (Purpose)

    To make our collective vocation the building and developing of our community in order to restore our people to their traditional greatness.

  • Kuumba (Creativity)

    To do always as much as we can, in the way we can, in order to leave our community more beautiful and beneficial than we inherited it.

  • Imani (Faith)

    To believe with all our heart in our people,

Find a system that works for you but if you value these principles of Kwanzaa, it’s important that you try and keep these principles alive and make them a part of your life for the greater good of all people. Respect Your Legacy

Scroll to Top